If a Risk has been created in error it can be abandoned. Once a Risk has been abandoned it is permanently deleted and cannot be retrieved.


If a risk is no longer needed but you wish to retain a record of the risk, including a full history and related controls, the risk can be Closed rather than abandoned. Please refer to the below user guide for help on how to close a risk:


To abandon a risk, click into the risk itself from the Risk Register and click Abandon.


You will be asked to enter the risk reference and a reason for abandoning the risk:


Click Abandon to confirm.